Alkony logo

The Boys: Season 4, TV series for The Boys series (2024) - Watch the trailer on YouTube
Watch the trailer in: English - Hindi - Italian
Watch the teaser trailer in: English
video © Sony Pictures Television & Amazon Content Services

Article updated: 2024.06.20

The The Boys: Season 4 (2024) is a contemporary fantasy action / thriller TV series. The TV series was reviewed by Kadmon.

Product: The Boys: Season 4, TV series for The Boys series (2024)

Original title: The Boys: Season 4

Series: The Boys - The Boys (TV series)

Other adaptations of the story: The Boys graphic novels

Previous entries in the series: The Boys: Season 1 (2019), The Boys: Season 2 (2020), The Boys Presents: Diabolical (2022), The Boys: Season 3 (2022), Gen V (2023)

Sequels: ?

Setting: contemporary fantasy Earth (The Boys universe - TV series)

Product type: Film, ca. 8x1 hours, Genre: contemporary fantasy action / thriller, Features: action, fantasy - contemporary fantasypolice action, science fiction, super-human abilities, thriller, Style: ?

Release: 2024.06.13-07.18

Reviewer: Kadmon, Type: Male, 40s, Preferences: Immersive, logical story, consistent setting, prefers surprises to spoilers, prefers establishing elements before referencing them

Watched: Ep1-3 (2024.06), first time

Rating: ?, Enjoyment: ?

* * *

This is our preview of The Boys: Season 4, a superhero action TV series for The Boys series from 2024. It's about a group of regular people trying to limit the collateral damage done by super-powered people. It is based on the The Boys graphic novel series.

The Boys: Season 4, TV series for The Boys series (2024) - Film review by KadmonThe Boys: Season 4, TV series for The Boys series (2024)
image © Sony Pictures Television & Amazon Content Services

"The world is on the brink. Victoria Neuman is closer than ever to the Oval Office and under Homelander’s muscly thumb as he consolidates his power. Butcher, with only months to live, has lost Becca’s son, and his job as The Boys’ leader. The rest of the team are fed up with his lies. With the stakes higher than ever, they must find a way to work together and save the world before it’s too late."

* * *

Review (spoiler-free) - The Boys: Season 4, TV series for The Boys series (2024)

First I've met the original comics, that I've read out of curiosity, but didn't really enjoy. Then I've watched the first two seasons of The Boys TV series, that were better than the comics, but still somewhat mediocre. However, due to my stubborn nature, I've watched the 3rd season of The Boys, that I've finally found quite enjoyable. Then I've watched Gen V, that was also great. So, now I'm eagerly waiting Season 4 of The Boys. I didn't watch the trailers, being afraid that it would spoil the story. I also have to admit that I don't remember much of what happened in the previous seasons.

The The Boys: Season 4 series is about a group of regular people trying to limit the collateral damage done by super-powered people.

Up to the episode 3, the story is good and engaging. The knowledge of previous seasons probably enhances the experience, but I feel that it would also work as a stand-alone story. I didn't find logical problems.

Comparing it to the previous series, it's better than Season 1-2, and on par with Season 3 and Gen V. This season is more episodic than Season 3, but Ep1-3 is less focused on the main plot than the episodes of Season 3 were. I feel that this makes the episodes longer than they should be.

The cinematography is good. The action scenes are clear, easy to follow. They are bloody enough to show that they don't shy away from brutality, but they are not so gory that would make the scenes distateful. Visually it was probably made with people viewing this on a small screen, but some scenes are cinematic enough that they would probably look good even in a movie.

The characters are good and interesting enough. In the first episode, we even get some introductions for the main cast, showing personalities though their actions. The acting is great.

The music is good. The choice of pop-music is great.

This series is strictly for adults. There's violence and gore, explicit showing of genitals, and constant swearing. I don't think any cutting around could make this series to work for kids.

Up to the episodes I've seen, the The Boys: Season 3 is an interesting contemporary fantasy action / thriller, that I think fans of the genre will enjoy.

My experience

I was mostly satisfied with the individual episodes of The Boys: Season 4 (2024). I happen to like stories with well-thought, logical and interesting plots, and The Boys: Season 4 delivered just that.

The Boys: Season 4, TV series for The Boys series (2024) - Film review by KadmonThe Boys: Season 4, TV series for The Boys series (2024)
image © Sony Pictures Television & Amazon Content Services

* * *

Episode review with no spoilers - The Boys: Season 4, TV series for The Boys series (2024)

Episode 1: Department of Dirty Tricks

Written by David Reed. Directed by Phil Sgriccia.

The episode starts with a couple of glimpses into the events of The Boys: Season 3. The episode includes some introduction to the main characters, showing their personalities.

Among the many plot-threads, there's a plot-line that starts in the beginning, and gets resolved by the end.

The episode ends with a reveal, and a kind of resolution.

Release: 2024.06.13

Watched: very recent (2024.06), first time

Rating: Good (2+ out of 3 points), Enjoyment: Good (2+ out of 3 points)

Episode 2: Life Among the Septics

Written by Jessica Chou. Directed by Karen Gaviola.

Among the many plot-threads, there's a plot-line that starts in the beginning, and gets resolved by the end.

The episode ends with some kind of resolution.

Release: 2024.06.13

Watched: very recent (2024.06), first time

Rating: Good (2+ out of 3 points), Enjoyment: Good (2+ out of 3 points)

Episode 3: We'll Keep the Red Flag Flying Here

Written by Ellie Monahan. Directed by Fred Toye.

Among the many plot-threads, there's a plot-line that starts in the beginning, and gets resolved by the end.

The episode ends with a cliffhanger, foreshadowing the plot of the next episode.

Release: 2024.06.13

Watched: very recent (2024.06), first time

Rating: Good (2+ out of 3 points), Enjoyment: Good (2+ out of 3 points)

Episode 4: Wisdom of the Ages

 

Release: 2024.06.20

 

* * *

Review with spoilers - The Boys: Season 4, TV series (2024)

Up to Ep3, I liked the The Boys: Season 4.

Cover

 

The trailer

 

Promise of the first scene

Neuman is telling an audience that a politician just won the election in some states. If the politician wins, than Neuman will be vice president. As it's soon made clear, she has superhuman powers, and she is probably invulnerable. Getting into the White House would make her immensely powerful.

Execution: We'll see.

* * *

The episodes - The Boys: Season 4, TV series (2024)

Episode 1: Department of Dirty Tricks

Promise of the first scene

Neuman is telling an audience that a politician just won the election in some states. If the politician wins, than Neuman will be vice president. As it's soon made clear, she has superhuman powers, and she is probably invulnerable. Getting into the White House would make her immensely powerful.

Execution: In the first episode, the election is not resolved. However, Neuman makes a pact both with Homelander and Butcher. Although it seems at the end of the episode that Butcher might renege from their deal.

Episode 2: Life Among the Septics

Promise of the first scene

We see a movie being shot about A-Trains origins, how he left the ghetto, got out of a drug-dealer family to join the Seven. A-Train is embarassed about doing it. Black Noir hangs out, having no clue what to do. I have no idea where will they take this plot.

Execution: I was positively surprised that the issue got resolved by the end of the episode. A-Train got so embarrassed first by the movie team, then by his family, that he decided to help The Boys to atone for the murders he allowed to be made.

Episode 3: We'll Keep the Red Flag Flying Here

Promise of the first scene

Homelander introduces new team members to the Seven, but leaves an empty seat for his son, Ryan. Although I assume the storyline will go towards this, I don't think this will be resolved in this episode.

Execution: Although the promise really didn't get resolved, it seems to prepare the plot of the next episode.

Episode 4: Wisdom of the Ages

 

Plot summary / Synopsis

Episode 1: Department of Dirty Tricks

 

Episode 2: Life Among the Septics

 

Episode 3: We'll Keep the Red Flag Flying Here

 

Episode 4: Wisdom of the Ages

 

The setting

The story is set on a contemporary alternate / fantasy Earth, in 2024.

There are people in this universe with super-human powers, created through the use of Compound V.

* * *

 

Analysis of the story - The Boys: Season 4, TV series (2024)

Up to the episodes I've seen, I liked the story, I didn't find problems that would have prevented me from enjoying The Boys: Season 4.

The message of the story

 

The structure of the story

In Ep1-3, the scenes of the The Boys: Season 4 film are played in sequence, following the same storyline, with some occasional flashbacks to previous events.

There's no single viewpoint character.

Ep1-3 has multiple plot-lines, but there's at least one plot-line that gets resolved by the end.

Fan-service

Scenes and elements from previous stories:

The Boys TV series

  • Ep1: Mention of Soldier Boy, as Homelander's father.
  • Ep1: Mention of the Red River institute.

Gen V TV series

  • Ep1: The Godolkin Institute incident, and the virus gets mentioned.

Real life

  • Ep2: Multiple real life conspiracy theories are shown at the convention.
  • Ep3: A guy with a gun walks in the rescue the children supposedly imprisoned in the basement.
  • Ep3: Debate about "Happy Holidays" vs "Merry Christmas"

Things I liked

  • Ep1: They included a brief introduction to the main cast. They've shown us the powers of the main super-hero characters.
  • Ep1-3: Although the series is a continuous narrative, each episode has a plotline that is concluded by the end of the episode.
    • Ep1: Mother's Milk is trying to find the ex-boyfriend of his ex-wife, until he finds him murdered.
    • Ep2: A-train is embarrassed, and decides to help the Boys. Kimiko finds and fights the terrorist ring.
    • Ep3: Butcher trying to poison Ryan, so the CIA can take him to a secret prison, but in the end, he refuses.
  • Ep3: It's nice touch to inform people about the effects of postpartum depression.

Problematic elements

Ep1-2

Lack of conclusion: The episode just ends, without properly concluding an arc, providing a punch to the story, or introducing a cliffhanger. Based on the more episodic approach of this season, I don't miss the cliffhangers, but they could have emphasised the story arc of the episode in the endings.

Ep1-3

The pacing of the season: Although I really appreciate all those additional details about the characters and the world, Season 3 really amped up the tension by the end, and now we are back to somewhat pedestrian problems. These additional plots could have been included in some kind of web-series, between episodes, or in an expanded DVD version. However, there are some plotlines that don't have the same weight as fighting for the survival of humankind.

  • Hughies's father: It's good that we get to still get to see a caring, human side of Hughie. It's also good that we get to know his mother, and their backstory. But I don't feel it fits the rest.
  • Deep's octopus: I get it that they want us to be reminded about Deep's love life, but we get to spend too much time with them.
  • Frenchie and Colin: It's nice to get a view into Frenchie's past and love life, but - as far as Ep3 - it's so unrelated to the main plot, it's annoying.

Starlighters: While it's nice that we see the dumb redneck lunatics among Homelander's followers, but I miss the deranged social justice maniacs among Starlighter's group. The more screen time we get on Homelander's band, the more unbalanced this issue gets.

Ep2-3

Black Noir as comic relief: They teased that the new Black Noir will be hillarious. At first, it might have been true. Then it started to get tedious. I get it that it's a good contrast with the original character, and the actor probably had a great time playing it, but I don't feel it fits the rest of the narrative.

Ep1

Butcher vs Neuman: Season 3 ends with Butcher swearing he'll do everything to take Neuman down. In the first scene of the first episode, they try, they fail, so Butcher gives up, and starts bargaining with Neuman. This was somewhat anticlimactic.

Butcher refusing Neuman: It's not entirely clear whether he refuses her deal in the end, or if he sent those files, but also added the photo just to mess with Neuman.

Missing information: As I try to watch the season as a stand-alone series, I try to find information that could be clear to regular viewers, but newscomers might be confused by the lack of it.

  • Butcher's hatred towards Homelander: Butcher gathered the Boys due to his hatred towards Homelander. He thought that Homelander killed her wife, Becca. By the end of Season 1 it turned out that it's not true. Yet, he still hates Homelander, because he is a psychopatic serial killer with superhuman abilities.
  • Hughie's hatred towards A-Train: It's not only not mentioned, it seems to be forgotten that Hughie got into the Boys to take revenge on A-Train. He didn't just think she was killed by him, he was holding her hands when A-Train tore her to pieces. Yet, it seems like Hughie is the one to calm down Starlighter when she wants to confront A-Train. Why?
  • Becca: We see Butcher speaking to Becca. It's probably clear that it's her wife, and that it's a hallucination, but I don't think they've mentioned that Becca has died, and more importantly, by the power use of Ryan.

Ep3

The skating incident: The whole thing went too over-the-top. The first accident of cutting the fingers would be okay, things like that happen. The rest of the bloodbath felt like there's a superpower at work that brings bad luck to the area. (If it turns out that was the case, then it's justified.)

Unanswered questions

  • Ep1: How did Black Noir get back to life? [Update: It's confirmed the guy in Black Noir's suit is just a stand-in.]
  • Ep2: After refusing Neuman, how come Butcher didn't suspect it was her who messed with the brain of Hughie's father?
  • Ep1-3: What's up with Maeve?
  • Ep1-3: What's up with Soldier Boy?

* * *

Possibilities of improvement

Ep1-3

  • Pacing for the season: Make these plot-lines into separate, one-off specials. Something like "Dear Becky" was for the comics. I'd be interested in Hughie's and Frenchie's personal life, and it would be fun to watch a romantic story about the Deep, that wouldn't burden the current season.

Ep1

  • Butcher refusing Neuman: Add dialogue (or visual clues) that Butcher refused their deal, and not just simply messing with Neuman.

Ep3

  • The skating incident: Cut most of the bloody wounds after the first fingers get cut off. Keep the frantic escape shots.

How it could have been better?

Ep1

  • Butcher vs Neuman: As the previous season ended with Butcher declaring war on Neuman, this episode could have focused on this premise. In the beginning, they should have given us more background on the importance of getting rid of Neuman, and how much did they plan their assassination act. Then we should have seen Butcher trying to find other ways to get rid of her. It should have been felt like a defeat when he was forced to talk to her, and agree to a truce. We should have seen how he was trying to get used to this truce, fighting against it, while trying to follow her terms before he decided to refuse her.

* * *

How does it compare to the other works of the creators?

Ep1 & Ep8: From the writer (David Reed,) I have seen some other The Boys episode, that were probably fine.

Ep2 & Ep8: From the writer (Jessica Chou), I have seen some other The Boys and Gen V episodes, that were probably good.

Ep3: From the writer (Ellie Monahan), I've seen some The Boys episodes that were probably good enough. 

Ep1: From the director (Philip Sgriccia), I have seen some other The Boys and Gen V episodes, that were probably fine.

Ep2: From the the director (Karen Gaviola), I have seen some TV episodes, that were probably okay.

Ep3: From the director (Fred Toye), I've seen some episodes of Falling Skies (2011), Person of Interest (2011-2016), Westworld (2016) and The Boys. They were probably acceptable.

How does it compare to the original source?

As far as I've seen, I prefer the TV series to the original comics. Those were just mostly mean, with some funny scenes occasionally.

How does it compare to the other seasons in the series?

As far as I've seen, I prefer Season 4 to Season 1 and Season 2. It's similar to The Boys: Season 3 and Gen V.

* * *

Behind the scenes

 

Thoughts about the reviews of others

 

* * *

Uses for the film - The Boys: Season 3, TV series (2022)

Plot

  • Set in a contemporary fantasy setting.
  • A company managed to come up with a serum that will give temporary super-human powers to the users.

Scenes

 

Designs

 

Scenario ideas - Role-playing game scenario ideas

 

Scenario ideas - Wargame scenario ideas

 

Ep2

Fighting a multiplying enemy:

Every time they dispose of one of the units, roll a d6. On a 1, they've found the original, and all of the others get knocked out. If it's the last unit, you don't need to roll.

 

Miniatures - 1/50-1/60 (28-32mm scale)

Civilians: Human-sized (S3) modern (advanced) human female / male civilian. Find a model!

Super-heroes: Human-sized (S3) modern (advanced) looking super-heroes. Find a model!

* * *

Similar stories - The Boys: Season 4, TV series for The Boys series (2024)

Novels like The Boys: Season 4

Gérald Bronner: How I Became a Superhero (2007): In a similar contemporary setting, the protagonists are police officers, who work against super-powered criminals. Super-powers can be given by a drug.

Graphic novels like The Boys: Season 4

Powers (2000-): In a similar contemporary setting, the protagonists are police officers, who work against super-powered criminals. Super-powers can be given by a drug.

The Boys (2006-2012, 2020): In a similar contemporary setting, the protagonists are police officers, who work against super-powered criminals. Super-powers can be given by a drug.

Movies like The Boys: Season 4

Comment je suis devenu super-héros / How I Became a Superhero (2020): In a similar contemporary setting, the protagonists are police officers, who work against super-powered criminals. Super-powers can be given by a drug.

Project Power (2020): In a similar contemporary setting, the protagonists are police officers, who work against super-powered criminals. Super-powers can be given by a drug.

TV series & episodes like The Boys: Season 4

Powers (2015-2016): In a similar contemporary setting, the protagonists are police officers, who work against super-powered criminals.

The Boys: Season 1 (2019): The first season of the The Boys series.

The Boys: Season 2 (2020): The second season of the The Boys series.

The Boys Presents: Diabolical (2022): Animated series based on the The Boys TV series.

The Boys: Season 3, TV series (2022): The third season of the The Boys series.

GEN V (2023): A series, that's running parallel to The Boys: Season 4.

Games like The Boys: Season 4

* * *

Frequently asked questions - The Boys: Season 4, TV series for The Boys series (2024)

Is the The Boys: Season 4 film based on a book or comics?

Yes, The Boys TV series is based on the The Boys graphic novel series. As far as I can tell, the story is not based on any plotline from the original comics.

Is the The Boys: Season 4 film a remake or reboot?

No, the The Boys: Season 4 film is neither a remake nor a reboot.

Is there a post credit scene in The Boys: Season 4? Does The Boys: Season 4 have end credit scenes? Does The Boys: Season 4 have a post credit scene?

There's no post credit scene in The Boys: Season 4 Ep1-3.

Where can I see The Boys: Season 4? What is The Boys: Season 4 playing on? What streaming service is The Boys: Season 4 on? Where can I watch The Boys: Season 4 online? Is The Boys: Season 4 available on Netflix? Is The Boys: Season 4 on Amazon?

After 2024.06.13, The Boys: Season 4 is available online on Amazon Prime Video.

* * *

Resources - The Boys: Season 4, TV series for The Boys series (2024)

Official

Amazon Prime Video: The Boys: Season 4: Official article.

Information

IMDB: The Boys (TV Series 2019–) Season 4: Database article.

WikiPedia: The Boys season 4: Database article.

Rotten Tomatoes: Season 4 – The Boys 2024: Database article.

TVTropes: Series / The Boys (2019): Database article.

The Boys Wiki: Season Four: Database article.

Creation

: Concept art article / video.¤

Reviews with no spoilers - The Boys: Season 4 film (2024)

: Review article / video about the The Boys: Season 4 film with no spoilers.¤

Reviews with spoilers - The Boys: Season 4 film (2024)

: Review article / video of the The Boys: Season 4 movie, with spoilers. Includes a very detailed plot summary.¤

Analysis - The Boys: Season 4 movie (2024)

: Analysis article / video, explaining the finale of The Boys: Season 4.¤

 

Alteori:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jP9OK9c9pmc

* * *

Buying the product - The Boys: Season 4, TV series for The Boys series (2024)

* * *

Have you seen the The Boys: Season 4 for The Boys series? How do you like the episodes? Would you recommend it to others? Do you know reviews or resources you'd like to add? What further thoughts do you have about it? Tell your opinion in the comments!

 

Comments powered by CComment